Non-Resolutions… Dream Bigger

new yearsI keep getting asked about my New Year’s Resolutions. Then I keep thinking about my “resolutions” and the more I think, the more lame my ideas become. I already try to have a healthy lifestyle and practice self-care. Putting more pressure on myself to do these things better will inevitably just piss me off…because well…I’m already trying best I can.

So I’m watching this super-intellectual movie, ‘New Year’s Eve’, and there was a quote “What would I do today if I knew I could not fail?” And for all the cheesiness and corniness of the movie, I really liked this question.

Instead of what am I going to resolve to do this year….what I am going to attempt this year without the fear of failure. Because well that’s the crux right??? We all dream small for the next year and inevitably forget about our resolution by month 3. Mostly because it isn’t something that causes real change, or because our heart is not invested so we don’t even notice it passing us by. Dream small, miss small.

How often do we dream big…and actually face the disappointment of failed dreams? Dream and speak those things that might hurt us to try…but hurt us more to never attempt. What if the journey is about the attempt regardless of the failure or damning consequences.

So here is my dream list of 2016…my 2016 bucket list…my “I might fail, but why not try” list. The list of childish, grown-up ideas. Ideas that may require the help of others to come true. Ideas that are in my brain and now I have decided to share.

  1. Make something and then try to sell it…and actually have someone buy it.
  2. Move out of Washington
  3. Make 1 piece of clothing that I’m not embarrassed to wear. Or if I am embarrassed to wear…wear anyway, what do I have to prove?
  4. Visit another country (Mexico and Canada don’t count).
  5. Fly first class and drink the entire flight.
  6. Have an all girls camping trip and love every moment.
  7. Adopt a second dog.
  8. Start to write a book…even just a chapter will do.
  9. Host a murder mystery party and not be the murderer.
  10. Take a train ride to anywhere.
  11. Learn something completely new. Preferably something I am horrible at so I can be challenged.
  12. Find a dish with peanut butter that I actually like. I dare someone to accept this challenge.
  13. Summit Mt. St. Helens
  14. Begin some sort of work from home…free-lance, independent, part-time. something.
  15. Be around for the birth of a child.
  16. Grow in my understanding of Jesus’ love for me and how that impacts the way I live and love.
  17. Get a state of Ohio tattoo.
  18. Be part of a miracle…or miracle/redemption story.
  19. Read 48 books.
  20. Dance a night away. dance party, line dancing, etc. If I am not sweaty and tired by the end of it…it doesn’t count.
  21. Live a vulnerable life regardless of the consequences.

Ready? Set? GO!

4 thoughts on “Non-Resolutions… Dream Bigger

  1. Yeah, #2 makes me sad. But thinking of you flying first class and drinking the whole way to Europe made up for it a little. And #20 I fully support! I want to come. But on a serious note, I love this list and I love the question. I don’t do resolutions, but this has me thinking.

  2. First off, thanks for following my blog. Secondly, your tulip photo looks like it could have been taken in Skagit County during the tulip festival (I noticed you want to move out of WA). I live in WA and love the annual Tulip Festival. As for the dish with peanut butter, do you like good Thai food? Swimming Rama has a peanut sauce that is to die for. At least I think so. Best of luck with your bucket list! (I don’t do bucket lists or resolutions). Continually working on myself.

Leave a Reply

